The I Ching: The Classic Book Of Changes

I Ching - Chinese Book of Changes

The I Ching
The Book Of Changes


The I Ching (Classic of Changes or Book of Changes), also known as the Yi Jing, Yijing, or I Ging, is one of the Five Classics, the fundamental books of Confucianism. It is over 3000 years old (the symbols used in divination are over 5000 years old), making it both one of the oldest surviving books in the world, and one of the oldest forms of divination.  Its origin goes back to mythical antiquity, and it has occupied the attention of the most eminent scholars of China down to the present day.

In the mythological version, the text of the I Ching is believed to have been written by Fu Xi, the husband of Nu Wa, the creator of humanity.  The hero Fu Xi, a dragon or a snake with a human face, studied the patterns of nature in the sky and on the earth: the markings on birds, rocks, and animals, the movement of clouds, the arrangement of the stars. He discovered that everything could be reduced to eight trigrams, each composed of three stacked solid or broken lines, reflecting the yin and yang, the duality that drives the universe.

The I Ching is made up of sixty-four different hexagrams, and each hexagram has six changing lines.  In this form, this ancient Chinese oracle provides an Oriental philosophical perspective to give insight on situations and problems.  It has been used as it is a method of exploring the unconscious. It can also be read as a book of wisdom revealing the laws of life to which we must all attune ourselves if we are to live in peace and harmony.


Just Energy Insider’s Log-in to continue reading!
Not a Just Energy Insider? Sign-up now

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.